Follow your favourite tennis stars!  

Caroline Garcia and Kristina Mladenovic Qualify for 2016 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global

6 September, 2016 - The Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) announced today that the World No.2 doubles team of Caroline Garcia and Kristina Mladenovic has qualified for this year’s BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global. 

• World No.2 doubles team to make their first appearance as a team at WTA Finals
• Second of eight doubles teams to qualify, joining Martina Hingis/Sania Mirza in Singapore

The year-end event brings together the top 8 singles players and doubles teams to compete for $7 million in prize money.

Garcia and Mladenovic began their partnership this year and together have reached six finals. The French duo started the season with a final appearance at the Apia International Sydney, falling to Hingis and Mirza, who’ve already secured their spot in the year-end finale. The French duo continued their success with another final appearance at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships and went on to win in their next four WTA doubles finals appearances at the Family Circle Cup - Charleston, Porsche Tennis Grand Prix - Stuttgart, Mutua Madrid Open and Roland Garros. As a result, they have earned the second slot in the doubles field at the WTA Finals Singapore.

Separately, Garcia (w/ Katarina Srebotnik) and Mladenovic (w/ Timea Babos) made their WTA Finals debut in 2015, both falling in the round robin stage.

“Congratulations to Caroline and Kristina on what has been a fantastic season, earning them a spot at the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global,” said WTA CEO Steve Simon. “These exciting players have achieved great success in doubles this year, and we are very excited that they will be joining us in Singapore to compete for the most prestigious title on the WTA tour.”

Twenty-two-year-old Garcia holds six WTA doubles titles and three WTA singles titles, most recently winning the singles title at the Mallorca Open. Mladenovic, 23, holds a total of 16 WTA doubles titles, including four with Garcia this year. The Frenchwomen won their first Grand Slam doubles title together this year at Roland Garros.

“It was one of our goals when we started to play together to qualify for the WTA Finals,” said Garcia. “We are always improving and I am looking forward to competing in Singapore again.”

“We are excited and happy to have qualified,” added Mladenovic. “It’s a dream come true to qualify and celebrate the great year we’ve had.”

Melissa Pine, Vice-President of WTA Asia-Pacific and Tournament Director of the WTA Finals, said, “Caroline and Kristina have had an excellent season together and we look forward to welcoming them back in Singapore to compete at our crown-jewel BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global. Both players were popular amongst the fans last year so we are thrilled to have them back.”

The current Road to Singapore Leaderboard as follows (as of August 29, 2016):

1 Serena Williams (USA) - Q   1 Martina Hingis/Sania Mirza (SUI/IND) - Q
2 Angelique Kerber (GER) - Q   2 Caroline Garcia/Kristina Mladenovic (FRA/FRA) - Q
3 Simona Halep (ROU)   3 Ekaterina Makarova/Elena Vesnina (RUS/RUS)
4 Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)   4 Timea Babos/Yaroslava Shvedova (HUN/KAZ)
5 Garbiñe Muguruza (ESP)   5 Chan Hao-Ching/Chan Yung-Jan (TPE/TPE)
6 Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)   6 Andrea Hlavackova/Lucie Hradecka (CZE/CZE)
7 Carla Suárez Navarro (ESP)   7 Julia Goerges/Karolina Pliskova (GER/CZE)
8 Madison Keys (USA)   8 Xu Yifan/Zheng Saisai (CHN/CHN)
9 Karolina Pliskova (CZE)   9 Raquel Atawo/Abigail Spears (USA/USA)
10 Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS)   10 Venus Williams/Serena Williams (USA/USA)

The leaderboard is updated each Monday (every two weeks during Grand Slam events) and can be found at

Staged at the Singapore Sports Hub from October 23-30, the 2016 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global is an eight-day tennis festival featuring the world’s best players vying for US$7 million in prize money and two of the most prestigious titles in women’s tennis. The Top 8 singles players will compete in a round-robin format with the winner taking home the Billie Jean King Trophy. The Top 8 doubles teams will compete in a knock-out format for the WTA Finals Martina Navratilova Trophy.

The BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global made its record-breaking Asia-Pacific debut in 2014 and has seen continual growth each year. In 2015, more than 130,000 fans representing 51 countries attended the event, and the on-court action was viewed by over 32.5 million households worldwide during the festival of sport and entertainment.

In 2016, an exciting Family Day along with new ticket packages have been introduced to further enhance the fan experience, offering engaging activities both on and off the court. Passes and packages are now available on the WTA Finals website at, with single session tickets due to go on sale July 15. For the latest updates and insights, follow Twitter (@WTAFinalsSG), Facebook ( and Instagram (@WTAFinalsSG).