Follow your favourite tennis stars!  

Babos And Mladenovic Fifth Team Into WTA Finals

Three-time 2015 WTA titlists Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic have qualified for Singapore.

The WTA announced on Monday that Wimbledon semifinalists Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic have qualified for this year’s BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, joining the teams of Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza, Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Safarova, Casey Dellacqua and Yaroslava Shvedova, and Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina in the doubles field of eight, with three more spots yet to be determined.

Purchase your tickets today!

Babos and Mladenovic will make their debut appearance at the WTA Finals, but the pair of WTA Rising Stars have been ones to watch on the doubles circuit since they reached the Wimbledon final in 2014. The big-hitting duo have won three titles so far this season, including the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, the Internazionali BNL d'Italia - Rome, and the Grand Prix de SAR LA Princesse Lalla Meryem - Marrakech. They also reached the semifinals of the Apia International - Sydney and the Sony Open Tennis in Miami.

"I'm very excited to qualify for the WTA Finals Singapore for the first time," said Mladenovic, who was also in contention to qualify for the singles event until this week. "It will be such a great first experience and I'm definitely looking forward to it. This year was such a great adventure with Timea - we had a great season and this is something big. We are very proud to qualify, and it will be a wonderful atmosphere."

Staged at the Singapore Sports Hub from October 23-November 1 in partnership with World Sport Group (WSG), the 2015 WTA Finals feature the Top 8 doubles teams competing for the Martina Navratilova WTA Finals Doubles Trophy, while the Top 8 singles players will compete for the Billie Jean King Trophy. With a record $7 million in prize money on the line, the round-robin singles competition will be the highlight of a 10-day tennis festival that will also include the WTA Legends Classic, WTA Rising Stars Invitational and a WTA Future Stars event.

Below is the current Road to Singapore singles leaderboard (as of Monday, October 5):

1. Martina Hingis/Sania Mirza (SUI/IND) - Qualified

2. Bethanie Mattek-Sands/ Lucie Safarova (USA/CZE) - Qualified

3. Casey Dellacqua/Yaroslava Shvedova (AUS/KAZ) - Qualified

4. Ekaterina Makarova/Elena Vesnina (RUS/RUS) - Qualified

5. Timea Babos /Kristina Mladenovic (HUN/FRA) - Qualified

6.Caroline Garcia/Katerina Srebotnik (FRA/SLO)

7. Raquel Kops-Jones/Abigail Spears (USA/USA)

8. Garbiñe Muguruza/Carla Suárez Navarro (ESP/ESP)

9. Chan Yung-Jan/Chan Hao-Ching (TPE/TPE)

10. Andrea Hlavackova/Lucie Hradecka (CZE/CZE)


Last year, new milestones were set at the WTA Finals with record highs for attendance, TV viewing and online audiences as fans from around the world traveled to Singapore and tuned in to the exciting 10-day sport entertainment extravaganza showcasing the world’s best female athletes. The event attracted 129,000 spectators, including 93,000 fans who attended matches at the Singapore Sports Hub, through the 10 days of on- and off-court sport and entertainment in the stadium, as well as the fan festival which offered free access to the public.

In 2015, fans and spectators of the WTA Finals can expect the WTA to amplify engagement efforts by building a deeper connection with the fan base, delivering richer, more compelling digital content and creating money-can’t-buy experiences – all in an effort to become the most fan-friendly sport entertainment experience on earth.

Tickets for the general public start at S$16.90 and can be purchased through Sports Hub Tix, the official ticketing partner of the 2015 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global.